1 Night 2 Days Season 4: One Year Later…

Has a whole year really gone by since my first post about 1 Night 2 Days Season 4? Since the day I expressed my first impression and my hopes for the show? Time flies when you’re having fun, they said. And I have been thoroughly enjoying my weekly dose of happiness since then that I was really surprised to realize that it’s time for the first anniversary already.

In this post I’m going to write down my latest opinion of 1 Night 2 Days Season 4. One year later, what has changed? Have I been enjoying it? Has there anything I’ve been disappointed with? Let’s get started.

Image copied and edited from 1 Night 2 Days official Instagram account @kbs_unicorn

Goodbye Slapstick Comedy. I’m not a huge fan of slapstick comedy. It may be funny most of the times, but there’s just something about it that bothers me a little. In season 3 we saw slapstick comedy between Kim Jong Min and Kim Jun Ho a lot. Those were funny, but didn’t really sit right for me. This season 4 that type of comedy were cut down to very minimum. Sure, there were times the member get a little “violent.” At the back to school episode for example. Se Yoon acted as a vocal coach and made members who failed the high-pitch game to pulled other members hair so that they can reach the pitch required. But that’s just as violent as it gets. This season they’re relying the comedy more to honest reactions. And, uhm, in-adequateness? I laughed so hard at the episodes when they were put into team adequate and in-adequate, and team traitor. Before there’s team Han Ji Pyeong, there were these teams. There’s also Moon Se Yoon who became the unofficial captain comedy of the show. He’s able to produce hilarious comedy skits and comical reactions on the spot but also lead and steer the other members to do just the same.

Brotherhood At Its Best. I don’t know if it’s just me or are the relationship between the members in this season are closer than their predecessors (A lot say that season 1 members were the best, but I only watch a few of that season so I couldn’t say the same). I feel that their bond is really strong. Their friendship is really strong. Their brotherhood is stronger than ever. There is no one or more dominant figure in this membership. They are all one of the same. There were times, in the previous seasons, when I feel some uncomfortable moments, whether because of their fierce competitions or slapstick comedies gone too far. They undermine weaker members and often tangled in fierce physical battle against each other. In season 4, there is this vibe that the members always truly enjoy their time together on the set. They’re fascinated about the town they’re visiting, the new games they’re playing, and still fascinated about each other. Yeon Jung Hoon, Kim Seon Ho, and Ravi’s honest reactions about everything are the best. There’s still competition, of course, but in a fun way. There were a lot of times they really got together and support each other. Remember that athletic championship episode? When Kim Seon Ho couldn’t get to the finish line at the swimming competition? They didn’t trampled on him for being a loser, but they support him and help him finish the race. Granted, it was just a comedy skit but it’s heartwarming as well as hilarious.

Image copied from 1 Night 2 Days official Instagram account @kbs_unicorn

You Bring Out The Best in Me. Season 4 members are unique in their own way. Each week we discover their unique characteristics that brings a new color to the show. Yeon Jung Hoon with his explosive spirit that died down as quickly as it came. DinDin with his naughty little kid character when teasing other members or being teased by them. Ravi with his exceptional quality but tragically lacking executions. Moon Se Yoon with his confident that often betrayed him in games. Kim Seon Ho with honest reaction towards everything. And, last but not least, Kim Jong Min with his surprising genius side popping up every now and then. He’s doing pretty good, if not better, this season. Though, with Kim Jong Min being Kim Jong Min, no one but himself seems more surprised when he’s doing well. If I can say so myself, they complement each other. Even when they’re being lacking they could be very funny.

Creative Themes and Games. Hats off to this season’s crew. Smiley PD has took the helm of the sinking ship and made it sailing proudly again. The concept and themes they came up with are refreshing. The one that really hit the spot is that BangTopia episode. They managed to pull off a minimal contact filming, cooked up the concept really well, and nailed it. Yes, the members, mainly DinDin, gave them quite a shock with their resilience in trying to open that locked room, but the little surprise just made the show more real and less scripted. There are plenty of new games in that is really fun to watch and it looks like the members are enjoying it. In “Travel Around Korea” episode I love all the games. Indeed, it was a 13 hours exhausting game marathon, but everything were fun.

I sincerely hope this season will outlast all the previous seasons. Everything is too good and I would be really sad if this ended or one of the members left and is replaced with another. This setting is great. These members are amazing. And you don’t fix what’s not broken, especially when it’s working this well. And I hope they will win big at the end of year awards. I can’t wait for the anniversary project, Feel the Rhythm of Korea, with the Korean Tourism Board. It’s 1 Night 2 Days Season 4’s first huge project that marked the recognition their journey has received so far. There’s plenty more to come from Bang PD’s crew and the members. And I’d gladly wait for it every week. To 1 Night 2 Days Season 4, my weekly dose of happiness, HAPPY 1ST ANNIVERSARY! Here’s to more laughter and love to come. CHEERS!

One thought on “1 Night 2 Days Season 4: One Year Later…

  1. I am also a long fan of 2 Days and 1 Night since season 3 and did watch some of season 1 and 2.. I agree that Season 4 is going strength to strength. Also noting that they started in late 2019 and got hit by the pandemic in 2020. They are still making great content without slapstick comecy and pulling it off.

Leave a comment